Travelling Light (and not so light)

Grand Tetons at Night

I went on holiday to the USA in August, travelling with a small group to the Grand Tetons, Yellowstone and Glacier National Park.  As a walking and wildlife holiday what camera gear does a keen photographer take?

Lets get the honest admission out of the way – I couldn’t go to Yellowstone and not take a decent SLR and long lens just in case a great photo opportunity presented itself.  So I packed the 1D mk3 and 100-400l and 24-105l in a Lowepro Outback200 bag, which is a great bag for short walks and travel if you don’t want a backpack (which I didn’t as I had my walking pack too).  But the combination was too heavy and unbalanced for a long day walking.  But it was worth it for some of Yellowstone, and the Tetons.

Grand Prismatic Detail

But I was glad I took my (new) LX5 which proved an excellent photographic companion.  Image quality is excellent at ISO100 – holding up well on the screen (if lacking a little contrast compared with the SLR) as I filter all my images – and exhibiting good battery life – using less than 2 batteries in two weeks while taking over 600 shots.

Aspens in Jackson (LX5)

I’ve even come to like the format selection (1:1, 3:2, 4:3 or 16:9) which I thought would be a gimmick, but does help you consider different compositions and encourages you to think a little differently.

Ultimately, in Glacier National Park, I pretty much stopped using the 1D…

So I thoroughly recommend travelling light.

 

About Rob Friel

An amateur photographer, who's interested in sharing learning with others!
This entry was posted in Photography, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

